Small Spring Delights

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let me tell you what this is not. It is not the three quilted pieces that I managed to get entered in the Edmonton and District Quilters Guild yesterday just ahead of the deadline. They are not finished but substantially on the way and far enough along to be photographed for the entry form.
There should have been four pieces however  I was fortunate enough to have a piece , “My Talisman” accepted into the Grand National Quilt Show opening at Joseph Schneider Haus in Kitchener ON today and running through until Sept. 3, 2017.
This year many goals have been set and so far accomplished close to on time. The one I started on today is to reclaim space in my studio. The plan is to spend part of the day there and part of the day in the garden. Once I got started in the studio today I just couldn’t stop and I am making progress and finding treasures.
The treasures today were quilt catalogues from the 1990’s . However the most fun was “Quilt Judging Standards” published by Alberta Agriculture. I found the updated 1984 version although I took my first quilt judging course with Alberta Agriculture likely in 1979 soon after I became a District Home Economist in rural Alberta.
The sun was beckoning so I grabbed my camera and went to the garden late this afternoon. There I found some tiny colourful treasures blooming. Some yellow crocus, a few tiny grape hyacinths, a small blue flower in a patch of green moss like foliage, some purple crocus,  blue scylla and one lone snowdrop. I share them with you hoping that they might bring joy to your spirit the way they did mine.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in competition, Gardening, Quilt Judging, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Small Spring Delights

  1. Elinor Burwash Designs says:

    Thanks Helene. I expect that you have some things close to blooming now. My daffodils will likely come into bloom tomorrow and the Forsythia bloomed yesterday and is glorious. Each day brings a tour of the garden to marvel at the new growth.

  2. Helene says:

    Congratulations on your acceptance into the Grand National! Your wee flowers are lovely. The snow just left my garden last week so we’re a little behind you.:)

Leave a comment