Wooly Bees

Wooly Bees is a group of members of the Edmonton and District Quilters Guild that have a special interest in working with wool.  We have created a couple of group quilts for our local show and enjoyed that very much.  We have also hand dyed wool.  Sometimes we find new wool but mostly we work with recycled wool.  This comes from donations of yardage, used mens suits and samples from suiting manufacturers.  We manage to use everything we can lay our hands on.
A couple of years ago we each made a block for another member so that they could make a quilt.  Most popular were wonky houses.  Birds were the choice of one member and I chose a vintage sunshine block that I found in an old quilt.
For several years the hostess for the monthly meeting has prepared a project that we can do sitting around a dining room table or in a living room.  This month we had a guest instructor, one of our member’s mothers showed us how to use mens suiting samples to create hexagons.

IMG_7028

Yes it looks like black and white photography.  In reality it is grey wool samples.  It was really simple to do once the basic principle was mastered.  I spent time for a couple of evenings as I watched “The National” doing the hand sewing.
What really excited me about this little project was the texture and pattern created on the reverse side.
IMG_7029

With the folding of the circular piece it  creates between two and three layers of wool.  It could be used as a coaster or hot mat or perhaps part of a wall hanging.  I just know that I am really enjoying it.  It has been filed in my brain for further consideration.  I am sure that one day an idea will pop out.
Many thanks to our hostess Suzanne and her Mom Barb for a great evening and a fun project.

 

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in creativity, Design, Textiles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wooly Bees

  1. Alison says:

    I have a new website onestraypin.com
    Will be blogging soon too!

  2. Alison says:

    Oh Eleanor!! Those are beautiful!! You are speaking to me, wool, recycle, grey scale, texture. I would love to help you dream up a group project with those…. My squirrel is just running!!
    I missed your creative company at Anna’s AQC this year. Am signing up as soon as the new info is posted for next year, week 1. Hugs A

    • Elinor Burwash Designs says:

      Thanks for this Alison. Lets talk about a group project. I missed you this year and will look forward to next year. You have been doing great things and getting recognition. Congratulations

  3. Paige says:

    Hmmm maybe I will have to buy some on my way through next year and dye it next year.
    I may have been a good thing that I didn’t shop there! If we come to Edmont during the winter to see our son, I will get in touch, bye for now

  4. Paige says:

    Looks great… Does this wool take a dye?I got your message from Anna re the wool at the Periwinkle shop. Unfortunately They were closed on Sunday when I went through. It was great to see you again this year. I can’t wait to see your Sisters Poppy when it is done. Enjoy your week

    • Elinor Burwash Designs says:

      Thanks Paige. If it is pure wool without any type of finish then it should take a dye for wool. Too bad you missed Periwinkle. I found some wonderful dyed wool as well as some white wool. A favourite Saskatoon shop.

Leave a comment