Easter Greetings

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At last the sun is out and the snow is melting. No actual flowers yet but the scylla stalks are above the ground and I have high hopes. I hope you enjoy my collection of “bunnies”. they were collected over many years by my and my best friend and later my granddaughter.


Last evening when I was delivering the fabric Easter baskets shown above there was one lonely jack rabbit, just about brown but with its lovely fluffy tail still a beacon of white running across the lawns.
The baskets were  an inspiration for three little folk ranging in age from 1 – 3. The idea came from a book called “It’s a Wrap”. The colours of batik inspired the baskets and the handles are of flat webbing that was saved from a large box.  It turned out that the baskets were a serendipitous arrival at my cousin’s house as she and her husband had forgotten about the bunny coming this morning. While they had remembered in time to get chocolate they had not managed to get Easter baskets. So these were timely. Each child choose their favourite.  I have to say that the synthetic grass inside each one was the really big hit. Hopefully in the years to come the baskets will be something that they will enjoy.
An Easter gift to myself was taking the time to create them and the joy of working with the beautiful coloured batik.

 

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in creativity, Design, Textiles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

