Red

RED
My efforts at creating an annotated bibliography from my library of textile books has stampeded along to the second book I think.
Red by Jan  Beaney and Jean Littlejohn is the book I have been reading most recently.  It is Book 19 by these two British Textile Artists. These women have created a series of thin books on a variety of topics.  I have enjoyed everyone I have read to date.
Many books in my collection are chosen for the colour and apparent texture and “Red” is certainly one of these.  The authors  begin with the symbolism of the colour red. Text talks about various red items and how they  might be viewed and the text is supported by wonderful illustrations of pieces and ideas that can be used to stimulate creativity.
“Red” includes exercises in still life and continuous line drawing along with thoughts to help an artist focus on bringing the colour red into their field of perception.  The book also includes a bibliography of other resources.
I often think of red both in the morning and the evening with the sunrise and the sunset.  When I was a child I learned “Red sky at night sailors delight, Red sky at morning sailors take warning”.  That thought reoccurs as I see the sunrise and the sunset each day.
Research into cognition indicates that rereading something between 5 and 8 times allows our mind to take it into long term memory.  I think that also works for photographs.  So I have viewed the illustrations in this book at least that many times over the past several weeks.  I don’t know how that will influence my work in the future but I feel confident that at some time something idea will come from this book into my work.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in art, creativity, Design, Quilts, Textiles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red

  1. Paige says:

    Thought I had left a message……guess I didn’t. This looks like a very interesting book. I will try to locate some of their books. Enjoy the remaining days of Summer.

    • Elinor Burwash Designs says:

      Hi Paige. It is an interesting book. Just the photo’s alone are really inspirational. I hope that the weather is great and that you are enjoying warm days. E

Leave a Reply

