Art Quilt Campus 2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My summer vacation was spending the last week at St. Peter’s Abbey in Munster Saskatchewan.  It is my third year at Art Quilt Campus.  It is a week that I enjoy thoroughly.  It is spending time with other women who are interested in stretching their textile art muscles, increasing their knowledge and sharing their expertise.  The week is organized, led and facilitated by Anna Hergert.  Anna is generous is sharing her knowledge  and helps creative problem solving with each person individually.  We explore questions of interest to each of.  Interesting discussions are held in the evening.  We share our play results from the past year with each other and join in constructive critiques. This year people expressed the interest in doing some handwork and Anna provided lots of inspiring examples.
I’m hoping I can persuade Anna to come to Edmonton next Spring to share how to make her unique fabric boxes and her new Kantha designs.  She has created some wonderful innovative pieces for her book on Kantha which is now with her editors.
So what did I do this week?  Well I produced 4 colour runs of 9 graduations: cerulean blue, raspberry, violet and golden yellow.  These will be used to create four flower drawings I created for my new one day course on colour.
One morning I sat on the steps above the fountain in the Abbey to listen to Vespers and drew inspiration from the stained glass window.  Now I have a small improvisationally pieced top based on the colours in the stained glass window.
On the way home I stopped in Saskatoon at Periwinkle Quilting and acquired some white wool and some cream linen and a new book.  I return home with lots of ideas to explore.

 

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in art, creativity, Design, Quilts, Textiles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

