A Day’s Work

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

…but worth it.  I spent an enjoyable making a birthday cake today.  It was “The Duke” from the Duchess Cookbook.  The Duchess is a bakery/restaurant in Edmonton.  Since the day it opened there are line-ups at the door.  The restaurant part was small, has expanded and still the demand is huge.  Everything is delicious.  I only ate one thing there for years, the Rhubarb Galette as I was trying to figure out how to recreate it, especially the topping.  I would buy them for dessert when I had guests and ask them what they thought the topping was.  We never figured it out.  Then the cookbook came out and my daughter gave me one for Christmas.  Now I could make the Galette’s and try something else when I went to the bakery.
I had not had the “Duke” cake and I am a chocoaholic.  However any dessert has to be delicious in order to meet the expenditure of calories I believe. So  the recipe looked like it met my requirements as carmel and chocolate are really my favourite combination.  So I began.  First the cake.  Great ingredients, with a moist rich tasteful crumb.
Then the salted carmel.  The cookbook directions were and my carmel with the ground almonds was so tempting it almost didn’t make it to the cake.
The ganache that became the basis of the icing imparted a carmel taste to the chocolate icing.  When assembled the cake looked great and when eaten the combination of flavours were great.  It was definitely a “morish cake.  Definitely worth the calories.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day’s Work

  1. Elinor Burwash Designs says:

    Thanks Kathy, not even going to try. But I do want to try and make carmels.

  2. Kathy Strawson says:

    Once again Elinor you have outdone yourself! How will you ever top that!

Leave a Reply

