Zoe’s Windy Day

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A milestone day.  I have finished my Trend-Tex challenge for this year.
When I do a challenge that comes with the fabric predetermined I open the package up and fan the fabric out and wait for it to speak to me.  This year was no exception and the topic “Living a Life in Green”was sparked by looking out my living room window as I was mulling things over and a tree that I see from the window was sketched.  Then several mornings I heard a pileated woodpecker and the two came together.  The orange gold fabric felt like a windy fall day and since my granddaughter had a book when she was small called Zoe’s windy day the challenge came together.  My experience with drawing human figures is less than minimal but it came to me that I could draw a stick figure and put clothes on it.  That seemed to work.  You decide.

I hope that many of you will get to Mississauga for Quilt Canada 2016 and that we will see a good display of Challenge Quilts – “Living Life in Green”.

I know that the National Juried Show will be great.  I was fortunate enough to be one of the juror’s and can hardly wait to see the quits hanging in the fabric so to speak.  The jurying was done on line which is quite a different experience than seeing them in person.  I am looking forward to being a scribe for the judges and so will move my learning as an apprentice judge along.

There will be some great teachers.  One of my favourites – Anna Hergert  will be there with some sought after classes.  Don’t miss this chance as a little bird told me she isn’t applying for next year.  Jane Sassaman will be there facilitating some workshops and giving a lecture.  There will be a session with the International Gathering folk that my friends Kathy Strawson and Kim Caskey are organizing for Friday evening.  It sounds like a great evening with a chance to meet people and hear about some happenings from across the pond.

I hope to see many of you there.

 

 

 

 

 

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Zoe’s Windy Day

  1. Elinor Burwash Designs says:

    Thanks Paige. Glad you liked it.

  2. Paige says:

    OK I just saw it!! I needed to wait til it loaded….. Great job!

  3. Paige says:

    I guess we will have to wait to see your creation till they show them in the CQA magazine. Good luck on your entry. Have a wonderful time at the Show, get those scribing muscles tuned up!

Leave a Reply

