Modern Quilts

IMG_7066When I was in Saskatoon a couple of weeks ago I picked up a book that drew me in as the title said Modern Quilts. I am scouting out quilts labelled as “modern” I have read an article by Kathy Bissett and Anna Hergert. This article is entitled “CQA/ACC Quilt Judge Certification Programme Meets Modern Quilting. It appeared in the Spring 2014 issue of Quilters Connection Magazine. They say that there are differing viewpoints and then go on to list some characteristics that seem to help define this category.
So When the title jumped out at me I picked it up and started to look. I soon found that I had missed two words in the title – Nature inspired. They fit the some of the items on the .list prepared by Kathy and Anna Rhw quilts are colourful, employ design principles and elements and they don’t require templates or rulers. The directions are very good and clearly the author – Bernadette Mayr from Germany is a very skilled quiltmaker. She provides details that a beginning quiter can follow and use. If the beginning quilter looked at the pictures and used the colourways as a guideline they would come out with an excellent quilt. I was taken by a number of the quilts shown and could see myself improvising using the ideas as a place to begin. If you like to start with a bit of guidance and come out with a show stopper you will enjoy this book.
Of course I found some fabulous fabric in Periwinkle Quilt Shop and have a beginning on an idea.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in creativity, Design, Gardening, Quilts, Textiles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Modern Quilts

  1. Jill says:

    Beautiful! I like the black and white check juxtaposed with the colour.

Leave a Reply

