Morning Glory

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Literally!  I looked out my kitchen window yesterday morning and saw blue where there had never been blue before.  Grabbed my camera and rushed out to find my first ever morning glory.  I have faithfully bought seeds each year for many years and never got them planted.  This year I found a plant at a nursery, brought it home, planted it and promptly forgot.  There were a number of times when I just about tore it down as it looked like a weed that commonly twines its way up the same piece of fence.  Then my neighbour weed whacked along his side of the fence and part of the plant died.  I gave up watching so it was with great surprise and joy that I saw the blue flower yesterday.  Only one and no signs of more to come.  I took pictures, although not good as the sun was behind the bloom.
I thought that I could get better ones later.  So why are they called Morning Glories? When I returned later the bloom was wilting and folding up.  I looked carefully again this morning but indeed nothing even close to a bloom opening was evident.  There are several more buds and they look like they are a long way from opening.  So I share the photos I have because I was so delighted with the new addition to my garden.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Morning Glory

  1. julz says:

    smile – yep you got it – that’s why they are called morning glories – by the way, I do follow you and several times have wanted to leave a like for you, but you haven’t got the button on your posts

Leave a Reply

