Fleeting Moments

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Looking out my kitchen window this morning I was presented with the sight of a beautiful fragile pink Explorer rose with softest yellow centre.  The ruffled edges quivered in the breeze and the the beauty of it took my breath away with. The rose is fragile, delicate and to be enjoyed as the moment will be gone never to be recaptured in just the same way.  Life I have discovered is also like this.

I rushed out with my camera and was beckoned on to other mid summer wonders in my garden. As I drank them in I also took pictures. They inspire me to dye colours to capture their essence in fabric. Replicas of the real thing to be sure but reminders of summer and memories to savour.
When I returned to the house I found an exquisite card in the mailbox. The card depicts a floral composition from a painting called “Pink Shoe”  by a UK painter called Billy Showell. The inscription on the card says “My inspiration comes from the natural world and objects of desire. The beautiful curve of a stem or the twist of fabric in movement can set me thinking of new compositions:  nature and design unite to inspire.”
I can’t think of a better way to say how I feel about probably my most favourite inspiration – flowers and plants.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in creativity, Design, Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

