Day Lilies

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Big showy brief blooms – day lilies. These are a weakness of mine and for many years I have been going to nurseries and invariably get stopped by these beauties. Two years ago I put a moratorium on the purchase of them. There is just no more room in the garden for them. For the last couple of weeks they have been their spectacular best, although not all at one time. When one comes out I run out early evening to get the best picture I can.
For many years I taught a Ruth McDowell piecing technique, with her permission, from a publication of hers entitled “Pieced Flowers”.  The piece I chose to teach was the Day Lilies  straight seam quilt with inset corner seams. The neighbours I am sure wondered about the somewhat crazy person going out into the garden again and again, clutching pieces of fabric in her hand and holding them up to whatever day lily was blooming that particular day. While I now have many more cultivars the deep burgundy one with the chartreuse centre called Burgundy Shadow is still my favourite.
This year I have taken some photos out of focus and I see an abstract day lily coming on.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in art, creativity, Gardening, Textiles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day Lilies

  1. Elinor Burwash Designs says:

    Hi Kathy, thanks for your comments It is always delightful to hear that a class participant completed and uses their piece, I will check out Chicago Fire. Elinor

  2. Kathy says:

    Elinor, I am with you in loveing those daylilies. I loved taking your daylily class and the piece I created hangs proudly in my daughter’s dining room…there is no greater compliment! My colour choices were based on Hermerocallis “Chicago Fire”. Thank you for your great class instruction and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

