July Firsts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today is July 7 and I am excited to share two wonderful events in my garden.  I went out this afternoon to check the raspberry patch.  There are lots of small raspberries hanging from the bushes.  However there didn’t seem to  be anything bright red at all.  A closer look displayed one lone ripe berry.  This is an occasion for me and before I popped it my mouth to savour the flavour I took a picture.  Close as I could come, but think about the taste of a ripe, warm from the sun, fresh from the garden berry on your tongue.

Then there was a second event.  My first sweet pea.  It is white and fragrant and surprising as usually I am lucky if my sweet peas bloom by the end of August.  However this year I really made a concerted effort to plant for the first full moon in April.  So can you picture me out on my knees in the snow before I went to the campaign office one morning pushing the prepared seeds into the ground. The test will be if it happens again next year. It could be that we have had such a hot spring or it could be that I just got it right with the planting time this year. Why are there so many variables to take into account.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in Food, Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

