Colour & Line & Pattern

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some of my New York photos were taken because the combination of colour with lines creating patterns spoke to me. These photographs especially created bright spots in a grey New York  (I can see where the images of Gotham come from.)  The photographs are shared here in the hopes that readers will find inspiration in them and or just enjoy the colours.

I was quite taken by the parquet flooring in Stella McCartney. The colours changes subtly from one area of the store to another. The stairs create an optical illusion that is has an interesting possibility for a quilt I think. In Kate Spade the whole store bloomed with colour and the displays of merchandise were colour blocked with the books along the ceiling shelves signalling the movement of the merchandise colours. The walls in certain areas combined the colours to create a saturated environment for the bags, shoes and other merchandise. Gundrun Sjoden featured rugs and light fixtures that echoed the brightness of the clothing. The feeling was of being in a garden. Mood fabric had the rolls organized by fibre content with a riot of colour in each section.

This is a very short post again as the Alberta election was called last Tuesday and I am devoting my days to my MLA’s reelection campaign.  It is a wonderful time, as the Office Manager I get to meet so very many interesting people on the phone or who drop in for signs or to volunteer or tell us of their support.  It is an intense learning experience and my horizons have expanded.  I highly recommend it.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in art, creativity, Design, Textiles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Colour & Line & Pattern

  1. julz says:

    my eye was caught by the colours on the staircase – what a stunning idea!

Leave a Reply

