Time Passages – Sept. CDA’s

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well what could be better than the subject I chose for my September CDA’s – The White Rabbit from Alice in Wonderland with my favourite quote “I’m late, I’m late for a very important date”. You have to admit I have fulfilled the quote nicely as it is the 17th of November as I write this.
I like months that have 30 days in them for the purpose of these CDA’s. I do a large piece and then cut it into 30 – 2 ½” X 3 !/2″ pieces. That is perfect for getting a sense of the success of both a larger composition and the smaller ones. The smaller pieces are mostly line and one can apply principles of balance, see where there is movement and generally get a sense if the small pieces are successful as a stand alone composition. They can then be used to inspire an abstract piece.
I was surprised to find that the drawing I used as on the Internet and listed as being in the public domain. I then enlarged it, added the writing and then outline stitched in black thread. I used my Inktense pencils to add colour. Where I didn’t want the pencils to run I outlined each piece in white as suggested by Anna Hergert. For places where I wanted a softer outline, for example grass and the fur on the rabbit I just drew the lines and as you can see they feathered out nicely once water was added. The last technique was to use the pencil to create the sense of grasses and by applying water in the same way they filled in the grass nicely while still given the impression of line.
My last word on September CDA’s is “Better late than never.”

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in Creative Daily Acts, creativity, Design, Textiles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Passages – Sept. CDA’s

  1. Elinor Burwash Designs says:

    Thanks Anna for the vote of confidence.

  2. Anna Hergert says:

    Yeah Elinor! So proud of you to carry through with your challenge! Love the way you interpreted the theme! 😉 It’s all about sticking to a commitment – and I second your last sentence!

Leave a Reply

