Over the Rainbow (August 2014 CDA’s)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

August CDA’s were pure fun.  I focused on the word “rainbow” and interpreted this as intense colour combinations.  I found some bright strip sets that had been left over from a group project and proceeded to cut out 2 1’2″ X 3 1’2 rectangles to try and get as many different colour combinations as possible.  (I now have some bright strip sets with rectangular holes in them. )

Next I found three bright primary solids of #10 pearl cotton thread in the same value range.  They are fushia, apple green and a teal blue.  Using a cording foot #22 for my Bernina I couched down three threads over the intersections of the strip sets with some departure were my mind said it would create a more interesting composition.  The goal  was to see how many different colour combinations or schemes that I could create. I love using the couching foot and am sure I will find some other reasons to use it.

I plan to use these little pieces as inspiration for choosing various colour schemes for future projects.   Hope you have as much fun looking at them as I did creating them and perhaps you may find inspiration for colour combination in them as we

 

This entry was posted in art, Creative Daily Acts, creativity, Design, Textiles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

