The Progress of Spring

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A lot of work has been put into my garden in the past couple of years. First it was removing an overwhelming amount of quack grass. Then last year I managed to unload two cubic yards of a top soil/compost mix into the flower beds. I had some help in moving some perennials between beds to get closer to the colour blocking effect that I wanted This Spring even though it was late I have a more beautiful garden that I ever had before.
As soon as a new bloom appears I am out with my camera taking pictures. Photo’s provide the basis for many of my quilts. Sometimes it is an actual sketch the provides the design material. Neighbours have seen me scurrying in and out with fabric in hand attempting to match the exact colour way that appears in a particular flower. It seems to me that the best colour schemes are provided from nature. The colours always work so well together that it seems silly to try to create your own when you are doing a realistic representation. I am not sure why so many colours of green work so well together and that what might seem garish in another setting is perfect in a flower.
I have also come to accept that my garden will never be totally in bloom at one time One of my goals is to have something in bloom from April 1 to Oct 31. Some years I manage and some not. This was one of the not years. My first blooms of crocus didn’t appear until May 1 and my blue Scilla was even later. None the less I now have something blooming in every bed in my back south-facing garden beds.
Some tulips are my treat in this blog. I tried taking photos of some huge burgundy heritage iris that come from roots whose ancestors are likely over 80 years old. I found that the just didn’t come out right so tomorrow the sketch book will come out.
A garden provides such riches, amazement at the beauty of nature, abundance, peace, joy and so much return on pleasurable investment of time.

This entry was posted in Design, Journaling. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Progress of Spring

  1. elinorburwashdesigns says:

    Thanks Anna. They are inspiration indeed.

  2. Anna Hergert says:

    What wonderful images, Elinor – spring has definitely sprung in your yard. Wish I could admire it with you, but it is not to be this year. Keep soaking up those glorious colours!

Leave a Reply

