March 2, 2014 Fever Feb CDA’s

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The February Creative Daily Acts theme was “Fever.  The first thing that came to mind was Peggy Lee’s song: hot, bothered, passionate. I was still mulling over how to create a visual heat when the Olympic Opening ceremonies was broadcast. It just started and I realized that it was focused on  strong graphic images.  Quickly I grabbed my sketchbook and started line drawings. Next came the team figure skating. On Feb 9th a German woman skated to Fever and so the lines on her costume are on one of the CDA’s.
My choice of materials was a heavy watercolour paper and Inktense pencils (not watercolour)  in a hot colour range. Again it was a learning experience. First the pencil lines bled when wet and were not a great idea so I moved to a Micron pen for ink line drawings. Then I found that the individual 2 ½” X 3 ½” size needed to be drawn a little larger to achieve the finished size. A trip to “The Paint Spot” for some Inktense pencils to broaden out my hot colour range of three pencils also netted me some useful information. I discovered that once the pencils were used to colour, then wet gently with a natural bristle brush they would become permanent when dry. Another layer of colour could then be added to deepen and enrich the colour. At least one of the pencils didn’t give an even colour no matter how it was worked while wet. A range of intensity of colour depended on how thickly the colour was applied. Experiments included adding colour when the original colour was wet and  putting two colours next to another and then blending them with water.
Choosing this medium for “Fever” reminded me that one of my favourite activities as a child was colouring. In Grade 2 I gently shaded in red a print page in my workbook to liven it up and to pass the time. Was I in trouble. No matter it was a forerunner of my passion for intense colour. So yes I had a lot of fun with February Fever.

This entry was posted in art, Creative Daily Acts, creativity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to March 2, 2014 Fever Feb CDA’s

  1. elinorburwashdesigns says:

    Thank you, your kind words are much appreciated.

  2. roma1912 says:

    What a stunning collection, vibrant & a depth of quality,I’m totally enthralled by your work 😀

  3. elinorburwashdesigns says:

    Thanks Anna for your encouragement.

  4. Anna Hergert says:

    Fabulous and colourful and feverish – Oh so feverish! These are great and so mesmerizing to watch.

Leave a Reply

