January 29, 2014

IMG_4309

January 2014 has turned out to be one of the steepest learning curves I have experienced.  In fact I have felt like Sisyphus sometimes.  My learning curve has been entirely computer connected and a good chunk of it has been learning to use I-photo and a Mac.

I think that while I am still at the seek and hope and pray that I will remember what I have done.  Experts say that an action needs to be related between 5 and 8 times for it to be retained in long term memory.  I have repeated many of the actions more times than that but  because sometimes I arrive at the result I want by accident I can’t remember my process.

Some of this has been very funny.  For example today I tried to insert a photograph into a file that was by accident recorded as a video. So no wonder I couldn’t follow what I knew worked and that I had so carefully written down.  It is the mistakes that have been the best learning experiences.  That reminds me of one of my maxims in life which is “success is not heights obtained but obstacles overcome”.

So the month comes to a close with an incredible sense of accomplishment for me.  I undertook four projects that I hadn’t dreamed of considering doing in December 2013.  They presented themselves and they support my goals for 2014 so I persevered.

My list – I learned how to set up a blog, write posts and add images and here it is.

My second project used some of my usual organizational skills but instead of applying them on paper I had to learn how to visualize and apply them in an electronic format.  This led me to learn how to use Dropbox.  What a great tool it is. In the process of this effort I became acquainted electronically with a woman who I have admired for many years and who turned out to be very approachable and helpful .

The third project was to submit some entries  to the National Juried Show of the Canadian Quilters Association.  While I don’t know whether they will be accepted I do know that I feel that I achieved success in the submissions.  In order to do this I attended a brief workshop on taking photographs of textiles and learned a great deal about my camera.  It is as it turns out a small wonder.  I also got much better acquainted with I-photo and I am delighted with the edit feature.  The best learning on I-photo was that I could find the size of the file.

Lastly I put forward a proposal to teach out of province.  A previous computer crash last year led me to take new photographs, with I hope greater skill than previously and to recreate descriptions and new materials lists.  I finally got it off tonight.

So thanks to the friends who helped me, especially my friend Anna who also encouraged and gave technical support and advice.  And here’s to me.  I  did it.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January 29, 2014

  1. roma1912 says:

    Congratulations on your new found skills I for one am impressed 🙂

  2. Elinor Burwash Designs says:

    Thanks Anna for the reinforcement. I do feel that is a year of change for me. I can’t wait to see either. January has been momentous. E

  3. Anna Hergert says:

    Congratulations on persevering, Elinor! Here is to great things yet to come… 2014 is YOUR year! A year to learn, create and explore… Can’t wait to see where it will take you.

Leave a Reply

