January 23

IMG_4402

At Christmastime I went into a shop with friends and found a magazine called Flavours.  It celebrates Western Canadian cuisine.  I love to cook and am particularly found of baking.   While browsing through the magazine I found a recipe for Gingerbread Madeleines.  My friend Anna suggested that we try them.  I discovered that she has the best equipped kitchen ever and madeleine pans were produced and we got to work.  They smelled heavenly.  We sat in the sun with a lovely cup of tea and warm gingerbread madeleines.  Surely this is a bleak midwinter delight.

I decided to copy down the recipe and to my great surprise discovered that it was from a favourite patisserie in Edmonton called Duchess.   No wonder they were so good.  When I returned home I made them to take to a dinner party together with a lemon mousse for dessert.  They were very well received, and disappeared.

Then the other day when I met a friend for lunch at the Duchess there were the Gingerbread Madeleines beautifully displayed on a pedestal plate.  If you are ever in Edmonton I suggest that the Duchess is not to be missed.  Perhaps one day they will produce a cookbook for those of you who are not lucky enough to live here.  I love to go to the Duchess.   Everything that I have tried is delicious and my only sorrow is that I  would like to order one of everything but I could’t possibly eat everything at one sitting.  As I have some very particular favourites I confess that there are some things I haven’t tried.

Now all I have to do is figure out how to reproduce Gingerbread Madeleines for one of my CDA’s

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 23

  1. Elinor Burwash Designs says:

    Thanks Roma. They were a real treat and enjoyed by all who ate them.

  2. roma1912 says:

    The Gingerbread Madeleines look devine 🙂

Leave a Reply

