January 14

IMG_4387

 

Small sigh of relief tonight.  The Christmas quilts, wreathes, tree and assorted seasonal decorations including the door wreath that says “send in the elves” are packed away for another year.  The chief (and only) elf is exhausted.  However there is only time for a deep breath because I seem to be up to my eyeballs in deadlines.  My daughter says  “let something go”.  My granddaughter says “but you are retired you don’t have to do all these things”.  My response, I made commitments and I want to do the things I have on my list.  Here are my strategies.

First – my January home is spare.  The quilts and treasures displayed leave a feeling of order and spaciousness,  That is calming for my mind and helps me focus.

Secondly – I set goals, I make lists.  I make a larger list of the big pieces I have to get done.  Then I break each big piece into chunks that I believe that I can handle. Before I go to bed each evening I make a list for the next day.  At that time I also write in a journal what I accomplished that day.  Some days there are many interruptions and detours, often necessary, many welcome as they are friends calling or e-mailing.  There is always something to put on the items accomplished list, even if it wasn’t on the original list of “to dos” for the day.

These two lists allow me to feel good about the day and to have my mind at rest about the next day.  This is vital for me because my best creative problem solving often comes to me during the night.  I keep a pencil and notepad by my bed and when an idea is there in the morning I write or draw whatever comes without judgement.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in goals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to January 14

  1. Elinor Burwash Designs says:

    Thanks for this Roma, you get it. Life for me is a learning journey and a little push forward in terms of want to do is a great incentive.

  2. roma1912 says:

    Although “you don’t have to all these things” the fact that you want to, and indeed complete your goals shows tenacity on your part, good on you 🙂

  3. Elinor Burwash Designs says:

    January is a great time to look back and see what was accomplished in the past year and to set the big goals for this year.

  4. Anna Hergert says:

    Well done – Christmas is over for another year! Your strategy to stay focused and organized is much like mine, Elinor. Seems like many of us are rethinking of what our priorities are. January is a good time to do this…

Leave a Reply

