January 10, 2014

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My journey into Creative Daily Acts (CDA) is an exciting one. The slides show how I chose to start the “In the Bleak Midwinter” theme. A piece of pale grey fabric was the starting point. I wanted more interest but also a pretty neutral background. I added a wash of Setalolor Shimmer,hat gives me just a little sparkle. This was layered with Peltex, a firm double sided fusible with a white fabric for the backing. Using a piece of each, 20″ x 14″ I fused them together and then cut sandwich into 32 pieces 2 ½” X 3 ½’. A decorative stitch in grey finished the edges. Voila! now I have backgrounds for the entire month. For me this is a strategy to make it easy for me to get started on my CDA each day.
I wondered how I would manage to think of something each day. One discovery is that my perception of the winter world around me has sharpened. I now “see” things that are there everyday but have not come into my field of vision in the same way.
In fact two things have emerged. My camera goes wherever I go in the house (a simple point and click) and so does a notebook. ideas come readily from my daily environment – my garden and home and from my background listening to CBC 1 as my day progresses. So I have photos and a list which really keeps my anxiety down about this project.
This project as a learning exercise; finding new ways to use my machine considering how something in my home that might be employed for a different purpose could be put to use in one of my CDA’s.
On the back of each CDA I am recording the date, the topic of inspiration, i.e. my Linden tree lit at night, and what technique or material I used to create the CDA.
My intention is to mount the CDA’s on a canvas board at the end of the month so that I can hang it and enjoy my results.

About Elinor Burwash Designs

I am a fibre artist, teach quilting and am a quilt judge.
This entry was posted in Textiles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 10, 2014

  1. Anna Hergert says:

    Great idea about mounting the CDAs on a canvas board… I wonder how portable this would be for shipping once there are 12 canvas boards.

    • Elinor Burwash Designs says:

      Hire a truck would be the only way. I have been successful in using clear photo corners to stick onto the board and then slip the CDA’s into them, so they could be easily removable.

Leave a Reply

